Park Life

ALL THE PEOPLE
SO MANY PEOPLE
THEY ALL GO HAND IN HAND
HAND IN HAND THROUGH THEIR PARKLIFE

                                                                                          ~Blur

So when you take an Irish couple and you drop them into one of the biggest cities in North America with a population of almost 2.8 million, what happens? Park Life..

I’m sitting here, 10 months in and wondering when and how we melted into the multi cultured population, without going blind blinking an eye. I don’t know if we were just lucky, or we chose the best place to move to, but like two little ducks to water we settled in to Toronto.

During lunch last week I was asked the usual couple of questions I’m generally faced with “Why did you move to Canada?, How did you pick here?” etc…  After I explained myself a few times over, they replied “It must be so hard living here”.

This sat in my head and floated around and round,  back and forth for the whole weekend. Was it really that hard living here? No. Do I miss home? Yes. Do I want to move home? No. All these little thoughts just filtering in and out. But then it kind of just hit me, living here isn’t a struggle because I really really love it here.

Truth is, it wasn’t really that hard for us to settle in.

Don’t get me wrong, you move country, you leave your family.. you make serious adjustments, your life changes completely. But when you want something to work, you work hard – is it a change for the better? Yes. What would I be doing at home? Nothing.  You grab opportunites and you see how wonderful your life can be in this new & exciting place. Right now Canada is exactly where we want to be, its perfect for us.

Anybody that knew me before I moved to Canada would have said I would only last a week here, man did I not only suprise them, but I suprised myself. I don’t know how or why but there has not been one single day since I moved here that I’ve thought to myself ‘I can’t take it living here, it’s too hard.. I want to go home’.  Something I thought I would have felt daily, I thought I would be consumed by, but luckily homesickness hasn’t hit me that hard. These feelings of missing home float around mainly at special occasions and for a split second I think ‘ah I wish I was there’ but then I just pick up the phone, facetime or Skype. The best thing is to let it go, if your feeling it, just feel it. If I miss home, my family, my friends, food (Fry is first on my hit list) or anything really, I just stop for a minute and let it happen. The best thing I find is to not shove it away, because if you do that? It builds and then hits you like a ton of homesick-bricks.

Even though we live here now, doesn’t mean we aren’t proud of who we are and where we came from. It’s quiet the opposite really, when you live away from your country you become a little more proud of it.  Walking home from work one day last week, I stick my ipod on shuffle and a song I haven’t heard in years floats into my ears. The lyrics of this blur song take over my accent and I start singing along in that cockney accent. The song talks about mutli cultures going hand in hand and blending in together, but then it reminds you that you need to remember who you are. In the words of Blur, I’m happy in the knowledge that taking a moment of my day to do something that gives me that feeling of well-being, of being Irish. Regardless of what it is I do during the day that reminds me, point is it makes me happy. There will always be a piece of my heart devoted to Ireland.

I FEED THE PIGEONS I SOMETIMES FEED THE SPARROWS TOO
IT GIVES ME A SENSE OF ENORMOUS WELL-BEING
(PARKLIFE)
AND THEN I’M HAPPY FOR THE REST OF THE DAY IN THE KNOWLEDGE
THERE WILL ALWAYS BE A BIT OF MY HEART DEVOTED TO IT.

                                                                                                                        ~Blur

What do I do that makes me feel Irish? It might be something silly like coming home and cooking a stew, putting on a few Irish songs, watching something on the RTE player, skyping home, having a drink.. anything that for that split second takes me back to where I came from.

If I was to try and pin point as to why it worked out so well for us? I can’t say exactly. One of those times when luck landed on my feet &  bit of determination mixed together to make the perfect cocktail. Through my job I met some of the girls I now regard as my best friends. I’ve had so many new exciting experiences, exploring Canada and meeting people. We’ve made a home together, we’ve built a little life together and there is no reason for me to not want to live it.

Both Skype and Facetime have been a huge part of my happiness in Canada. Without fail I make it my business to get up a little early every weekend to speak with my family, something I would do anyway regardless to whether or not I live in a different country. But by doing this it has made my life easier, I feel as involved as ever with everyone back home. I have seen both my sisters, my sister in law and my cousin grow in pregnancy, celebrated birthdays, Christmas and any holiday in between and the best part? I’ve captured as many moments as I can by taking photos and screenshots.

Sitting back and looking over these pictures gives me a pain in my cheeks from smiling, because I can not only see my happiness in all these shots, but the happiness of my family. For me moving country doesn’t mean you have to let go of the past, it means you can take what you want from it and bring it into your future. I find myself counting my blessings more and more frequently since moving away, grateful for the roots, foundation and support I have in Ireland and the growth, opportunities and adventures I have in Canada.

PicMonkey Collage CHRIS DICKER

PicMonkey Collage AMO

PicMonkey Collage NAUGHTONS

PicMonkey Collage STEWY DICKER

 

PicMonkey Collage GARY DICKER

 

PicMonkey Collage LEANNE

 

PicMonkey Collage GRANDA

 

Side Note: My mother would disown me if I posted any pictures of her in which she didn’t know I was taking them. For my own safety I won’t be posting any of them. lol.

One response to “Park Life

Leave a Reply

