Happy Thoughts

It might seem crazy what I’m about to say
Sunshine she’s here, you can take a break
I’m a hot air balloon that could go to space
With the air, like I don’t care baby by the way

Happy – Pharrell Willams

It may be his Mounty-esque hat, or his perfectly placed dickie bow but either way Pharrell has made me one happy lady. This Sunday morning brought hope, for the first time in a long time, as I woke up to the sun trying to sneak it’s way in through the cracks in the blinds. I got up to make a cuppa and popped on the radio to be surprisingly serenaded by Pharrell and all of his happiness. Sometimes it’s exactly what you need to hear, music. The words to the song, the little tune and just like that your mood elevates. With thoughts of happy minions dancing around in my head, I grabbed my camera bag and slung it over my shoulder and off we went exploring in the glorious Spring weather.

After being hit with the harshest winter in years, Toronto was finally ready to say bye to the sub zero temperatures. I was just excited to be able to function and take photos without losing the feelings in my hands. Happiness is a strange emotion and unique to everybody in their own way. Since taking part in the 100happydays project I’ve noticed a small trend in my postings, with the sequel usually being my family, friends & little comforts that make
my dimple shine.

But really whats made me happy is the side order with the change in weather. With Spring finally breaking through, I find myself feeling hopeful for new adventures, inspirations and experiencing another season in Toronto for the first time. What has been a pretty big lesson for me in my time since moving here, is that materialistic things no longer bring me the happiness I once imagined. Moving to a new country with your life in a suitcase leaves you in a whole new comfort zone of happiness. I no longer find myself happy from purchasing or acquiring new things, the latest trends. I find myself smiling from walking around a city that holds so many new and exciting life lessons for me to learn, building my experiences and adventures. I am being introduced to a whole new world of crafty craftsmen and cultures I never imagined being part of. Going to exhibitions and realising that dreams can turn into reality. Hobbies and crafts can turn into a career path, I have a whole new appreciation for the creative life.

Happiness is now not a store bought temporary smile, but a day to day feeling. It grows inside and shines out through our big grins. By doing 100happydays I have started to notice that in our day-to-day lives, the little routines we all live in, they are what holds the key to what makes us happy. It can be hard to acknowledge what it is that may make your lip curl up just a little, but stop the next time you notice yourself doing it. Whether it be the smell of the yankee candle you light everyday after dinner, the noise of the kettle clicking when your ready to pour that cup of tea you’ve been dying for all day.. all these little things that connect our daily routines make up the little happy luxuries in our lives. The biggest luxury in my life along with all these new experiences and changes is my family. I am so very lucky to have them and I am forever grateful to be blessed with so many gorgeous little people in my life.

Today, I was happy about a lot of things. I was happy that I live in Toronto, happy that I have Gary, happy that the sun was shining, happy that I had a good weekend.. I was just HAPPY. The thing about it is, the luxuries you think you hold in your life may be materialistic but in reality it’s the moments that define real happiness. Life is not only meant to be lived, it must be enjoyed.

 

Here are some of the moments that I’ve captured over the past week or so that make me happy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

signature

 

4 responses to “Happy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

