100 Happy Days

I was feeling a little uninspired last week for a few different reasons, but it was mainly due to the fact that our outdoor activities have been so limited for almost three months now. Since December the weather has been increasingly bad with continual sub zero temperatures, snow & a wind chill that would cut you in half, its hard to draw inspiration when your cooped up inside just to keep warm. Although the winter is amazing in its own snow covered way & I’ve experienced so many outdoor activities… I miss the carefree summer days when I could just roam around outside without worrying about frost bite.

So this weekend I decided with the 1st of March looming and the prospect of Spring, I was going to pick up my positivity again and so I started to research the 100happydays project. Now that I live in such a huge city where everything and everyone is on another level of speed, you can quiet easily get lost in life and get sucked into the vortex of living in the hustle & bustle. Sometimes you see yourself joining in on the rush & pushing past people to get onto the subway first. But reading why you should participate in the project really stood out to me;

“We live in times when super-busy schedules have become something to boast about. While the speed of life increases, there is less and less time to enjoy the moment that you are in. The ability to appreciate the moment, the environment and yourself in it, is the base for the bridge towards long term happiness of any human being.”

Why do I want to take on this challenge personally? Because now that I only have 94 days to wait until I’m reunited with my family, I don’t want that to be my only focus and lose sight of what’s happening in my life now. Without realising we can wish away time and I hate the idea of doing that, you shut yourself off to so many possibilities. I don’t want to miss out on experiencing our first Spring in Toronto, seeing another season change and welcoming the warmer, longer days back into our lives. So taking on this project is a focus for me, on where I get my happiness from in my everyday life in Toronto and how have I changed & grown in happiness since moving here. If the challenge can define my happiness, well then I can acknowledge where it stems from & continue to be happy [Post 100 days].

We all know that social media can influence our postings and what news we share, sometimes it can seem like a platform for bragging. In doing this project, I will follow the rule below and stay true to myself and my own inner happiness without worrying about judgement from others or how I think people will perceive me. I am who I am and I won’t change that, if it makes you happy then go for it. My 100 happy days photos are purely a moment for me to enjoy, recognise the things that put a smile on my face & share them with you.

#100happyday challenge is for you – not for anyone else. It is not a happiness competition or a showing off contest. If you try to please / make others jealous via your pictures – you lose without even starting. Same goes for cheating.

I’ve decided that I will make my 100happydays project public via my blog and my instagram [#100happydaysjoolsjots]. This way people that want to follow my journey or feel inspired to take on this challenge can have someone to relate too. I would love to follow anybody else that is taking on this project and spread the happiness.

To register and read about the project you can go to 100happydays.com and the cool thing is at the end of this amazing journey you can get a small 100 page book with your 100 happy days!

Day 1

Gary & I went off out for the day, making sure we bundled up warm , we took a stroll to the farmers market at St. Lawrence to pick up some fresh fruits & veggies. Spotted at the market was the first flowers of spring and amongst the bunches of tulips sat a small bunch of chrysanthemums. Suddenly my face lit up, anytime I stumble across this flower it makes me smile. A few years back, Gary was having his inside arm tattoo’d to finish off his sleeve when he asked me to help him decide on the flower. Together we picked this one, mainly due to the beauty & layers it holds, But only later we found out that it symbolises optimism & joy. Perfect for how I’m feeling today & sums up how I’m feeling about Spring coming & towards my happiness project!

day 1

#100happydaysjoolsjots

 

So here we go, follow me as I jot my journey of 1oo happy days.

Leave a Reply

